Council Regional Capacity Building Program 2018-21

Program snapshot

Category: Contaminated Land Management.

Amount: Total of $4.2 million available. Grant maximum of $140,000 per year for three years. 

Eligible bodies: NSW Regional Organisations of Councils (ROCs) and groups of three or more regional councils, including joint organisations of councils.

Status: Applications closed on Friday 17 August 2018.

Managed by: NSW Environment Protection Authority.


The program aims to build capacity in the management of contaminated land in NSW by providing grants for Council Regional Capacity Building Officers for three years.

The program ensures

  • participating councils have
    • contaminated land policies which comply with legislation
    • procedures and registers for managing contaminated land
  • council staff have improved knowledge of the legal duties and technical aspects of contaminated land management
  • successful handover of underground petroleum storage system regulation from the EPA 


Successful recipients for 2018-2021 program are:

Grant Recipient Grant period applied for (years) Participating councils Approved funding
Bathurst Regional Council  3 Bathurst Regional Council, Oberon Council, City of Lithgow Council, Mid-Western Regional Council $375,000
Canberra Region Joint Organisation - Western Cluster  3 Hilltops Council, Snowy Monaro Regional Council, Snowy Valleys Council, Upper Lachlan Shire Council, Yass Valley Council, Wagga Wagga City Council $420,000
Canberra Region Joint Organisation - Eastern Cluster  3 Bega Valley Shire Council, Eurobodalla Shire Council, Goulburn Mulwaree Council, Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council, Wingecarribee Shire Council $420,000

Far North West Joint Organisation

 3 Cobar Shire Council, Bourke Shire Council, Walgett Shire Council $420,000
Dubbo Regional Council  3 Dubbo Regional Council, Gilgandra Shire Council, Coonamble Shire Council, Warrumbungle Shire Council $374,000
Hunter Joint Organisation  3 Mid Coast Council, Port Stephens Council, Newcastle City Council, Lake Macquarie City Council, Maitland City Council, Cessnock City Council, Dungog Shire Council, Singleton Council, Muswellbrook Shire Council, Upper Hunter Shire Council and Central Coast Council $420,000
Namoi Joint Organisation of Councils  3 Walcha Council, Tamworth Regional Council, Liverpool Plains Shire Council, Gunnedah Shire Council, Gwydir Shire Council $420,000
Ballina Shire Council on behalf of Northern Rivers Joint Organisation  3 Tweed Shire Council, Byron Shire Council, Lismore City Council, Kyogle Council, Richmond Valley Council, Ballina Shire Council $420,000
Riverina Eastern Regional Organisation of Councils  2 Bland Shire Council, Coolamon Shire Council, Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council, Greater Hume Shire Council, Lockhart Shire Council, Junee Shire Council, Temora Shire Council $279,920
Riverina and Murray Joint Organisation  3 Albury City Council, Berrigan Shire Council, Carrathool Shire Council, Edward River Council, Federation Council, Griffith City Council, Hay Shire Council, Leeton Shire Council, Murray River Council, Murrumbidgee Council, Narrandera Shire Council




 TOTAL 2018-2021


More information

For more information, contact 131 555 or email

Page last updated