Lower North East Region IFOA

The Integrated Forestry Operations Approval (IFOA) for the Lower North East Region was revoked and renewed as the Coastal IFOA on 16 November 2018.

The NSW Government has remade the IFOAs for the Lower North East, Upper North East, Southern and Eden regions into one Coastal IFOA which is efficient, effective and enforceable, and reflects modern best-practice regulation.

The IFOA for the Lower North East Region was granted in 1999. The explanatory note (PDF 16KB) outlines the Lower North East IFOA’s relationship to the Regional Forest Agreements, the roles of agencies and Ministers in enforcing the IFOA, and the reporting and review requirements.

The Lower North East Region extends northwards from Newcastle to Sawtell, and west to Wollemi National Park and the New England Tablelands.

Lower North East IFOA incorporating amendments

The following documents are compiled working documents which incorporate amendments and are not official consolidations.

Non-licence terms

Lower North East Integrated Forestry Operations Approval Package Incorporating Amendments (PDF 223KB)

Appendix A


Environment Protection Licence with amendments (PDF 119KB)

Appendix B 

Terms of licence under the Threatened Species Conservation Act 1995 with amendments (PDF 1.57MB)

Appendix C


Terms of licence under Part 7A of the Fisheries Management Act 1994 with amendments (PDF 173KB)

Appendix D


Maps 1 to 5 - Land to which this approval does not apply. Amendment 5 includes maps in electronic format (PDF 1.9MB)

Appendix E

Clauses in the original IFOA which have been deleted by subsequent amendments (PDF 1.4MB) *Note: These no longer apply and are provided solely for historical reference.

Original IFOA and amendments

Original Integrated Forestry Operations Approval for the Lower North East Region - issued in 1999 as granted (PDF 128KB)

The following amendments have been made to the original approval

Supporting material referenced in Amendment 6

Page last updated