Members of the Expert Panel

Professor Mary O’Kane, Chair

Professor Mary O’Kane is the NSW Chief Scientist and Engineer and also a company director and Executive Chairman of O’Kane Associates, a Sydney-based consulting practice specialising in government reviews and research and innovation matters.

Professor O’Kane was Vice-Chancellor of the University of Adelaide from 1996-2001. She is a former Chair of the board of the Australian Centre for Renewable Energy, a former member of the Commonwealth’s Review of the National Innovation System, Australian Research Council and the Co-operative Research Centres (CRC) Committee, the board of FH Faulding & Co Ltd and the board of CSIRO. She is a Fellow of the Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering and an Honorary Fellow of Engineers Australia.

Professor Alison Jones, Independent Expert – Clinical Toxicology
Executive Dean – Faculty of Science, University of Wollongong

Therese Manning, Independent Expert – Environmental Toxicology
Principal, EnRiskS

Dr William Glamore, Independent Expert – Hydrology
Principal Research Fellow – Water Research Laboratory, School of Civil & Environmental Engineering, UNSW

Sarah Gardner, Executive Director – Hazardous Incidents and Environmental Health
Environment Protection Authority

Darren Cleary, Chief Operating Officer
Hunter Water

Professor David Durrheim, Director – Health Protection
Hunter New England Health
Conjoint Professor of Public Health Medicine, University of Newcastle

Dr Ben Scalley, Director – Environmental Health Branch
NSW Health

Christine Middlemiss, Chief Veterinary Officer
Department of Primary Industries

Edward Jansson, Acting Director – Food Science & Strategy
NSW Food Authority

Dr Doug Ferrell, Director – Fisheries Analysis
Department of Primary Industries – Fisheries

Christobel Ferguson, Director – Water Information and Insights
Department of Primary Industries – Water

Anna Bailey, Acting Director – Groundwater Management
Department of Primary Industries Water

Bill Tatnell, Senior Regional Coordinator – Hunter Region
Department of Premier and Cabinet

Dr Klaus Kloop, Director – Environment Protection Science
NSW Office of Environment and Heritage

Adam Gilligan, Manager – Hunter Region
Environment Protection Authority

Contacting the Expert Panel

To provide feedback directly to the Panel, please send an email to:

Page last updated