Home SoE 2009
New South Wales State of the Environment
People and the Environment Climate Change Human Settlement Atmosphere Land Water Biodiversity  

NSW State of the Environment Advisory Council

Tony Wright (Chairman) – NSW Environment Protection Authority (EPA) Board member; Managing Director, Wright Corporate Strategy; Chair State Water Corporation

Dr Gerry Bates – NSW EPA Board member; environmental law consultant; Adjunct Professor of Environmental Law, Australian Centre for Climate and Environmental Law, University of Sydney; Director, Kimbriki Environmental Enterprises

Bob Junor – NSW EPA Board member; natural resource management consultant

Genia McCaffery – NSW EPA Board member; Mayor, North Sydney; President, NSW Local Government Association; member of the Local Government Environmental and Planning Committee, the Sydney Metropolitan Catchment Management Authority Board and the Environmental Trust

Tim Rogers (DECCW representative) – Executive Director, Departmental Performance Management and Communication, DECCW

Independent experts

Dr Greg Ayres – Director of Meteorology, Bureau of Meteorology

Dr Ben Gawne – Director, Murray–Darling Freshwater Research Centre

Dr John Gras – Centre for Australian Weather and Climate Research, CSIRO Marine & Atmospheric Research

Dr Judy Henderson, AO – Chair, Northern Rivers Catchment Management Authority

Dr Graeme Pearman, AM – Director, Graeme Pearman Consulting; Adjunct Senior Research Fellow, School of Geography and Environmental Science, Monash University

Professor Andy Pittman – Co-Director, Climate Change Research Centre, University of New South Wales

Dr Denis Saunders, AM – Member of the Wentworth Group of Concerned Scientists; President, World Wildlife Fund for Nature – Australia

Adjunct Professor Dodo Thampapillai – Professor, Graduate School of the Environment, Macquarie University

Associate Professor Susan Thompson – Planning and Urban Development Program, Faculty of the Built Environment, University of New South Wales

Associate Professor Ron West – School of Biological Sciences, University of Wollongong; Chair, NSW Fisheries Scientific Committee


Thanks to the many individuals from the following state and federal government agencies and authorities who have made significant contributions to this report:

Australian Bureau of Statistics

Department of Environment, Climate Change and Water

Department of Health

Department of Industry and Investment

Department of Planning

Department of Premier and Cabinet

Department of Transport and Infrastructure

Energy Australia

Hunter Water Corporation

Land and Property Management Authority

NSW Rural Fire Service

NSW Treasury

Sydney Catchment Authority

Sydney Water Corporation

Home SoE 2009 View printable page Last modified: 24 November 2009