Waste levy waived in Natural Disaster Areas

To help people dispose of their waste quickly and easily, the NSW Government has waived the waste levy fee in areas across NSW that have been declared Natural Disaster Areas.

Residents should contact their councils before leaving home with their waste to confirm the names of the facilities where the levy is waived and their opening status (noting that conditions are changing rapidly).

Council areas where the waste levy has been waived

Bushfire waste

  • Ballina Shire
  • Bellingen
  • Blue Mountains City
  • Byron Shire
  • Central Coast
  • Cessnock City
  • Clarence Valley
  • Coffs Harbour City
  • Dungog Shire
  • Hawkesbury City
  • Kempsey Shire
  • Ku-ring-gai
  • Kyogle
  • Lake Macquarie City
  • Lismore City
  • Mid-Coast
  • Muswellbrook Shire
  • Nambucca Shire
  • Penrith City
  • Port Macquarie-Hastings
  • Richmond Valley
  • Shoalhaven City
  • Singleton
  • Sutherland Shire
  • Tweed Shire
  • Upper Hunter Shire
  • Wingecarribee Shire
  • Wollondilly Shire

Council areas where the waste levy does not apply, but where residents may use a nearby facility in an area where the levy has been waived

Bushfire waste

  • Armidale Regional
  • Bega Valley
  • Cootamundra-Gundagai
  • Eurobodalla Shire
  • Glen Innes Severn Shire
  • Goulburn Mulwaree
  • Greater Hume
  • Gwydir Shire
  • Inverell Shire
  • Lithgow City
  • Mid-Western Regional
  • Narrabri Shire
  • Oberon
  • Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional
  • Snowy Monaro Regional
  • Snowy Valleys
  • Tamworth Regional
  • Tenterfield Shire
  • Upper Lachlan Shire
  • Uralla Shire
  • Wagga Wagga
  • Walcha

Read the Minister's media release (19 November 2019)