Waste levy waived in bushfire Natural Disaster Areas

To help people dispose of their bushfire generated waste quickly and easily the NSW Government has waived the waste levy fee in areas across NSW that have been declared bushfire Natural Disaster Areas.

Residents should contact their councils before leaving home with their waste to confirm the names of the facilities where the levy is waived and their opening status (noting that conditions are changing rapidly).

Council areas where the waste levy has been waived

New council areas added January 2020

  • Central Coast
  • Shoalhaven City
  • Muswellbrook Shire
  • Upper Hunter Shire
  • Wollondilly Shire
  • Wingecarribee Shire

Council areas already eligible

  • Ballina Shire
  • Bellingen
  • Blue Mountains City
  • Byron Shire
  • Cessnock City
  • Clarence Valley
  • Coffs Harbour City
  • Hawkesbury City
  • Kempsey Shire
  • Ku-ring-gai
  • Kyogle
  • Lake Macquarie City
  • Lismore City
  • Mid-North Coast
  • Nambucca Shire
  • Penrith City
  • Port Macquarie-Hastings
  • Singleton
  • Sutherland Shire
  • Richmond Valley
  • Tweed Shire
  • Clarence Valley and Richmond Valley councils have existing waste levy exemptions in place from the August 2019 bushfires.

Council areas where the waste levy does not apply, but where residents may use a nearby facility in an area where the levy has been waived

New council areas added January 2020

  • Eurobodalla Shire
  • Mid-Western Regional
  • Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional
  • Bega Valley
  • Greater Hume
  • Snowy Monaro Regional
  • Snowy Valleys
  • Upper Lachlan Shire

Council areas already eligible

  • Armidale Regional
  • Glen Innes Severn Shire
  • Gwydir Shire
  • Inverell Shire
  • Lithgow City
  • Narrabri Shire
  • Oberon
  • Tamworth Regional
  • Tenterfield Shire
  • Uralla Shire
  • Walcha

Read the Minister's media release (19 November 2019)