Waste levy waived for flood-affected areas

Residents facing the difficult task of cleaning up after extraordinary flooding in NSW will be able to take flood-generated waste to the tip for free.

Minister for Emergency Services and Resilience Steph Cooke said many thousands of people remain subject to the threat of flooding.

“While we are still in the emergency phase, recovery is a process that must start as soon as it possibly can,” Ms Cooke said.

“Seventeen local government areas have been subject to natural disaster declarations and to help residents in these communities dispose of their flood-damaged goods and possessions, the NSW Government waste levy is being waived.

“The clean-up and recovery process will place an enormous emotional burden on our communities which is why we want to do everything possible to ease it.”

Building materials, furniture and any other flood-generated waste is covered by the waiving of the levy, which applies to waste from both public and private land.

Minister for Environment James Griffin said residents can now take flood-affected household items to their local landfill without having to worry about the cost.

“These floods are devastating for so many communities, and the waiving of this waste levy helps to ease the burden of the clean-up,” Mr Griffin said.

“If you’re involved in the flood clean up, ask your local council which waste facility is taking debris, and whether there are special requirements for disposing of flood damaged waste.”

Waste facilities will need to ensure the waste is flood generated before they can waive the Government’s waste levy. Council waste facility gate fees may still apply.

Council areas where the waste levy has been waived: Ballina Council, Bellingen Council, Byron Shire Council, Clarence Valley Council, Coffs Harbour Council, Hornsby Council, Kempsey Council, Kyogle Council, Lismore Council, Nambucca Council, Port Macquarie / Hastings Council, Richmond Council, The Hills Council, Bayside, Blacktown, Blue Mountains, Camden, Campbelltown, Canterbury BankstownCentral Coast, Fairfield. Georges River. Hawkesbury, Inner West, Kiama, Ku-Ring-Gai, Liverpool, MidCoast, Newcastle. Northern Beaches, Parramatta, Penrith, Ryde, Shellharbour, Shoalhaven, Sutherland, Wingecarribee, Wollondilly and Wollongong

Council areas where the waste levy does not apply, but where residents may use a
nearby facility in an area where they levy has been waived: Armidale Regional Council, Glen Innes Severn Council, Tenterfield Council, Bega and Eurobodalla.