Inclusion and diversity committee

The EPA aims to ensure that all of our staff can feel safe, encouraged and supported in their work and recognises the need to address a wide range of diversity and inclusion factors to achieve this.  The EPA also understands diversity creates more tolerance, respect and understanding of differences and reduces fear and ignorance within a workplace and the community, creating more cohesion. The EPA Inclusion and Diversity Committee was established in November 2017 to support these important goals.

To ensure its ability to act on recommendations, this group has been set-up as a sub-committee of the EPA Executive; working in cooperation with the leadership of the organisation to achieve positive outcomes for our staff.

The Committee has been the driving force behind the development of our Inclusion and Diversity Strategy 2019-21 (PDF 792KB).

This is an important milestone for the EPA and builds on priorities set out in the EPA Strategic Plan 2017–21.

The strategy clearly defines the EPA's commitment to

  • diversity and inclusion strategic priorities
  • organisational and individual roles and responsibilities
  • the actions we will take to deliver on our commitments
  • how we will monitor and report on progress

The strategy will help the EPA achieve its 2021 vision to become an employer of choice, attracting and retaining the most talented people from a diverse range of backgrounds, ethnicities, genders and abilities.

Members of this staff-led committee are

  • Zoé Kennedy (Co-chair)
  • Martin Puddey (Co-chair)
  • Carmen Dwyer
  • Cathy Love
  • Christina Low
  • Hiromi Shimizu
  • Kayal Shankar
  • Mildi Palmer
  • Peter Bloem
  • Sarah Roebuck
  • Scott King
  • Gina Bradley
  • Alicia Ryan
inclusion and diversity committee members 
Page last updated