Healthy Environment, Healthy Community, Healthy Business

Environment Protection Authority

Environmental Issues

Waste and recycling

Managing waste in emergencies and disasters

Before communities can rebuild after disasters they may first need to safely dispose of waste and debris from storms, bushfires, flood, building fires and other major incidents.

NSW Waste Levy waiver for 34 council areas in the Natural Disaster Declaration zone

9 June 2016

In response to the June storms that wreaked havoc on much of NSW the EPA has waived the NSW Waste Levy until 30 June for the 34 levy-paying council areas in the Natural Disaster Declaration zone.

This means that the waste levy will not be payable on storm affected goods for residents and businesses that live in these 34 areas, although local gate fees which are set by private operators may still apply.

The waiver is strictly applicable to storm-affected materials in the LGAs listed below including bulky household goods like furniture and carpets and green waste blown from trees.

To help enforce this some councils may require pre-registration or declaration forms to be completed before disposing of waste.

The East Coast Storm Declaration Form (DOC 53KB) is available for residents, councils and facilities claiming an exemption to the levy as a result of the East Coast Storms that occurred in NSW in June 2016.

To avoid delays and frustrations residents should check local disposal and tipping fee arrangements with their councils, or with one of the four nominated facilities below if in the Sydney Metro Area, before trying to dispose of waste.

For residents in the Sydney Metropolitan Area, waste must be taken to the following facilities that will be waiving the levy:

  • Kimbriki Resource Recovery Centre - Kimbriki Road, Terrey Hills
  • Elizabeth Drive Landfill Facility - Elizabeth Drive, Kemps Creek
  • Lucas Heights Resource Recovery Park - New Illawarra Road, Lucas Heights and
  • Eastern Creek Waste Management Centre - Wallgrove Road, Eastern Creek.

The NSW Waste Levy Waiver applies in the following Council areas until 30 June 2016:

  • Blacktown
  • Byron
  • Camden
  • Campbelltown
  • Canterbury-Bankstown
  • Central Coast
  • City of Sydney
  • Coffs Harbour
  • Fairfield
  • Hornsby
  • Inner West
  • Kiama
  • Ku-ring-gai
  • Lane Cove
  • Lismore
  • Liverpool
  • Maitland
  • Northern beaches
  • Parramatta
  • Penrith
  • Port Macquarie-Hastings
  • Randwick
  • Ryde
  • Shellharbour
  • Shoalhaven
  • Sutherland
  • The Hills
  • Tweed
  • Waverley
  • Willoughby
  • Wingecarribee
  • Wollondilly
  • Wollongong
  • Woollahra

Please see Emergency events - Severe weather - June 2016 for more information

Recycling waste and debris after disasters

After a disaster it may be possible to salvage, reuse and recycle waste such as green waste, concrete, cardboard and timber.

If there is any risk that waste contains biological or chemical hazards or asbestos contamination, it must not be reused or recycled.

Was this page helpful?

Thank you for your feedback.

Would you like to tell us more?

Share this

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Page last updated: 10 June 2016